| 877-669-2228 | Login |

ABCTE Welcomes Five Renowned Education Leaders to Board of Directors

Washington, DC (December 1, 2005) — The American Board for Certification of Teacher Excellence (ABCTE) has welcomed five new members to its board of directors, Board Chairman Tony Colón announced today.

The members are:

  • Shawn Arévalo McCollough, Superintendent of the Maricopa County Regional School District in Phoenix, Arizona
  • Dr. Ting L. Sun, Vice President of Leadership and Quality at the California State Charter Schools Association
  • Tommy Espinoza, President and CEO of the Raza Development Fund, Inc.
  • Dr. Matthew Ladner, Director of State Projects at the Alliance for School Choice
  • Julio A. Fuentes, President & CEO of the Florida State Hispanic Chamber of Commerce.

“The American Board is honored to have these distinguished leaders join its governing body,” Colón said. “As the American Board grows and moves into a new phase of development and implementation for its teacher certification programs, it is necessary to diversify our board and benefit from the expertise of these remarkable individuals. Superintendent McCollough, Dr. Sun, Mr. Espinoza, Dr. Ladner and Mr. Fuentes bring significant experience, passion and vision to our organization.”

The biographies of new ABCTE board members can be found online at here